Anita Borg Institute announces 2010 Women of Vision winners

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No, this is not off topic. Increasing the use of HPC increases the quality of life for everyone on the planet through new technology and research projects. Increasing use means making HPC more directly relevant to more people, and that involves solving really hard problems. You can’t solve really hard problems without really smart people, and in computing we typically draw our talent from the less-than-half male portion of the population.

So it’s good news that the Anita Borg Institute has announced its roster of Women of Vision award winners for 2010

Anita Borg Institute logoThe Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology (ABI) announced today the winners of this year’s Anita Borg Women of Vision Awards. Three leaders in technology – Kristina M. Johnson, Under Secretary for Energy, Department of Energy, Kathleen R. McKeown, Henry and Gertrude Rothschild Professor of Computer Science, Columbia University, and Lila Ibrahim, General Manager, Emerging Markets Platform Group, Intel Corporation will be honored for their accomplishments and contributions as women in technology at ABI’s fifth annual Women of Vision Awards Banquet at the Mission City Ballroom, Santa Clara, California on May 12, 2010.

The award honors women making significant contributions to technology in the categories of innovation, leadership, and social impact.

“The 2010 Women of Vision Award Winners have made significant contributions to important technologies including renewable energy, human machine interaction and education technology platforms,” said ABI CEO and President, Dr. Telle Whitney. “These women are role models for technical women everywhere.”


  1. […] Anita Borg Institute announces 2010 Women of Vision winners … […]