Dr. Kevin D. Franklin Named to Teragrid Science Advisory Board

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Joint NSF-Teragrid Science Advisory Board announced that it named Dr. Kevin D. Franklin to join their group.  Dr. Franklin has his roots in the computational humanities, arts and social science [HASS] research community.  He is the executive director of the Institute for Computing in Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (I-CHASS), a senior research scientist at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), a research professor in Educational Policy Studies, and an adjunct associate professor in African American Studies at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

What’s the Teragrid Science Advisory Board?  From their release:

The NSF-TeraGrid Science Advisory Board (SAB) provides advice to the TeraGrid Forum and the NSF TeraGrid Program Officer on a wide spectrum of scientific and technical activities within or involving the TeraGrid. The SAB considers the progress and quality of these activities, their balance, and the TeraGrid’s interactions with the national and international research community, with the ultimate aim of building a more unified TeraGrid and enhancing the progress of those aspects of academic research and education that require high-end computing. The SAB provides advice on future TeraGrid plans, identifies synergies between TeraGrid activities and related efforts in other agencies, promotes the TeraGrid mission and its activities in the national and international community, and provides help in building and expanding the TeraGrid community.

For more info, check out the Teragrid website here.