HPC innovators to be Honored at SC11 with IEEE and ACM awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

IEEE and ACM have just announced this year’s winners of the Sidney Fernbach Award and the Ken Kennedy Awards to be presented at SC11.

  • Charles Seitz, one of the founders of Myricom, Inc., and president and CEO of Myricom until last year, is the winner of the 2011 Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award. Known as an architect and designer of a wide range of computing and communications systems, Seitz will be recognized for “innovations in high performance message passing architectures and networks.” The Cray award honors innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify Seymour Cray’s creative spirit. The award includes a crystal memento, a certificate and a $10,000 honorarium.
  • Cleve Moler, a mathematician and computational scientist specializing in numerical analysis, is the recipient of the 2011 Sidney Fernbach award in recognition of “fundamental contributions to linear algebra, mathematical software, and enabling tools for computational science.” Moler is the chairman and chief mathematician of MathWorks, the company he founded with Jack Little in 1984 to commercialize MATLAB, a high-level numerical computing environment. For nearly two decades Moler was a professor of mathematics and computer science, at the University of Michigan, Stanford University and the University of New Mexico. He was computer science chair at UMN when he developed several packages of mathematical software for computational science and engineering.  In 1985, he joined Intel to co-found its supercomputing division and produce the first commercial parallel computer line, the Intel iPSC, whose development led to the Paragon and to ASCI Red. The Fernbach award was established in 1992 in memory of high performance computing pioneer Sidney Fernbach and includes a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium.
  • Susan L. Graham, a computer science professor at the University of California, Berkeley, is the 2011 Ken Kennedy Award winner for her contributions to computer programming tools that have significantly advanced software development. Graham’s research covers human-computing interaction, programming systems and high performance computing.  Her work has led to the development of interactive tools that enhance programmer productivity as well as new implementation methods for programming language that improve software performance.

All three awards will be presented at 8:30 AM prior to the keynote address at SC11 on Tuesday, Nov. 15 in the Sheraton Hotel Ballroom. The three awardees will give presentations to SC11 participants on Wednesday, Nov. 16, beginning at 10:30 a.m. in rooms LL4 and LL5 of the The Conference Center, which connects to the Washington State Convention Center.

Read the Full Story.