SC12 Announces Award Winners for Innovation in HPC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This week SC12 announced a set of HPC innovators who will be honored by the IEEE/ACM when the conference convenes next month.

The winners for 2012 are as follows:

  • Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award: Peter Kogge from the University of Notre Dame. Kogge was the developer of the space shuttle I/O processor, the world’s first multicore processor, and a number of other important innovations, was recognized “for innovations in advanced computer architecture and systems.”
  • Sidney Fernbach Award: Klaus Schulten and Laxmikant “Sanjay” Kale from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, honored “for outstanding contributions to the development of widely used parallel software for large biomolecular systems simulation.”
  • Ken Kennedy Award: Mary Lou Soffa from the University of Virginia, honored for contributions to detecting and managing software security flaws.

All three awards will be presented at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 13, prior to the SC12 keynote address in the Salt Palace Convention Center ballroom. The three awardees will give presentations to SC12 attendees on Wednesday, Nov. 14, beginning at 10:30 a.m. in room 155E.