DOE to Showcase Leadership in HPC at SC16

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

cuhkvyiwoaaubbsResearchers and staff from the U.S. Department of Energy’s national laboratories will showcase some of DOE’s best computing and networking innovations and techniques at SC16 in Salt Lake City.

Computational scientists working for various DOE laboratories have been in involved in the conference since its 1988 beginnings, and this year’s event is no different. Experts from 14 national laboratories will be sharing a booth featuring speakers, presentations, demonstrations, discussions and simulations.

In addition to computational experts from 14 national labs, the booth will also feature work supported by the Office of Science’s HPC centers: the Argonne and Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facilities and the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and National Nuclear Security Administration computing centers at Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos and Sandia national laboratories. Finally, representatives from DOE’s Energy Sciences Network (ESnet), which connects 50 DOE sites to their users and collaborators around the world through high-bandwidth networks, will also be at the DOE booth.

Under the theme of “Leading the Way,” talks, demonstrations, discussions and electronic displays in the DOE booth (number 1030) will highlight DOE’s leadership in scientific discovery, national security and exascale computing. In particular, the three days of speakers at the DOE booth will give visitors insights into how HPC accelerates competitiveness, improves American research and development and helps solve problems thought previously impossible.

This year’s booth will also feature a virtual reality demo allowing attendees to investigate molecules in motion.

SC16This year’s featured presentations include:

  • Kerstin Kleese Van Damm of Brookhaven National Laboratory, presenting “BNL’s Computational Science Initiative – A Co-design Approach to Supporting Data Intensive Science at Large Scale Experimental Facilities”
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory’s Fred Streitz speaking about “Extreme Computing at LLNL: Computing at Scale to Drive Innovation”
  • Paul Messina, Argonne National Laboratory, and Stephen Lee of Los Alamos National Laboratory discussing “The Exascale Computing Project,,” as well as Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s Dough Kothe, Sandia National Laboratories’ James Ang, LLNL’s Terri Quinn and Argonne National Laboratory’s Rajeev Thakur discussing ECP application development, hardware technology, systems and software technology, respectively
  • Jack Wells from ORNL will give a presentation on “Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facility: Summit and Beyond”
  • Ann Almgren of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory will discuss “Next-Generation AMR”
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory’s Kevin Barker will present on “CENATE: A Computing Proving Ground”
  • Inder Monga, Eli Dart and Chris Tracy, representing LBNL and ESnet, will present “From the Edge to the Core: Scaling Networks to Support Exascale Computing and Data”
  • H. Carter Edwards of Sandia National Laboratories will present “Kokkos: Performance Portability and Productivity for C++ Applications”
  • LLNL’s Brian Van Essen will present “An Overview of the Brain-inspired Supercomputer TrueNorth”
  • LANL’s Tim Germann will be presenting “Preparing for Exascale: Co-design, Trinity and ECP Application Development for Materials Science”
  • Ian Foster of Argonne National Laboratory will present “Online Data Analysis and Reduction for Exascale Computing”
  • Scott Pakin of LANL will be presenting “LANL’s D-Wave 2X Quantum Annealer: Initial Experiments”
  • ORNL’s Jay Jay Billings will be presenting “DOE OSTI’s New Software Forge and Product Lineup”
  • Jim Kowalkowski of Fermilab will present “Bringing Physics Data Analytics Software Infrastructure to Exascale”

The DOE Office of Science will be represented by Ames, Argonne, Brookhaven, Lawrence Berkeley, Oak Ridge and Pacific Northwest national laboratories; Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory; and Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility. The National Nuclear Security Administration will be represented by Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos and Sandia national laboratories. The Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy will be represented by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, the Office of Environmental Management by Savannah River National Laboratory and the Office of Nuclear Energy by Idaho National Laboratory.

Here is the full listing of DOE events at SC16.

See our complete coverage of SC16, which takes place Nov. 13-18 in Salt Lake City.