Slovenia signs European Declaration on HPC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This week Slovenia became the ninth member state to sign the European Declaration on High Performance Computing. Designed to coordinate HPC efforts throughout Europe, the EuroHPC declaration was originally launched during Digital Day in March 2017 by France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Belgium signed the declaration in June.

Providing only 5% of global HPC resources, but consuming about 30% of them, EU needs to to step up cooperation in HPC to boost Europe’s scientific capabilities and industrial competitiveness. The EuroHPC goal is to to develop a high-performance computing ecosystem based on European technology, including low power chips and to have exascale supercomputers based on European technology in the global top 3 by 2022. This should make available top class HPC infrastructure and services to a wide range of users: large industry and SMEs, as well as the public sector. This will also support the European Open Science Cloud and will allow millions of our researchers to share and analyse data in a trusted environment across technologies, disciplines and borders.

By the end of 2017, the Member States who have signed the declaration, in coordination with the European Commission, will prepare an implementation roadmap to deploy the European exascale supercomputing infrastructure.

All other Member States are invited to sign the EuroHPC declaration and join the European effort to build advanced high-capacity data and computing infrastructure.

Sign up for our insideHPC Newsletter