NCSA Director Bill Gropp Named AAAS Fellow

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dr. William “Bill” Gropp is Director of NCSA in Illinois

Today NCSA Director and Chief Scientist Bill Gropp and NCSA Faculty Affiliate Narayana Aluru were both named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The AAAS is the premier society representing all of science and it is a leader in communicating science to the public. I’m proud to be a member and I am honored by this recognition,” said Gropp.

Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year, 416 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, 16 February from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. and will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 29 November 2018.

Gropp was elected as a AAAS Fellow for his distinguished contributions to scalable algorithms and software for high performance computing.

Throughout his nearly 40-year career, Gropp has explored parallel computing, software for scientific computing, numerical methods for partial differential equations, and the development of efficient and scalable parallel algorithms for the solution of linear and nonlinear equations. He has played a major role in the development of the MPI message-passing standard and was one of the designers of the PETSc parallel numerical library. Gropp is also recognized as a fellow of the ACM, IEEE, SIAM, and an elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Dr. Narayana Aluru, NCSA Affiliate from the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, was selected in the Engineering section for his outstanding contributions to computational, physical, and engineering aspects of nanofluidics and micro/nanoelectromechanical systems including the development of novel multiphysics and multiscale methods.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected. AAAS Fellow’s lifetime honor comes with an expectation that recipients maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Sign up for our insideHPC Newsletter