Finalists Chosen for Hans Meuer Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ISC 2019 has announced the finalists for this year’s Hans Meuer Award, which honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the ISC High Performance Conference. The award was introduced in 2015 in memory of the late Dr. Hans Meuer, general chair of the ISC conference from 1986 through 2014, and co-founder of the TOP500 project.

This year, the Research Papers Committee selected 17 research papers to be presented at the conference. For the Hans Meuer Award, the committee narrowed that list down to two candidates:

The work by Schuchart and Gracia presents an approach to manage global task data dependencies in partitioned global address space (PGAS) applications. To do this, they overcame the lack of fine-grained synchronization communication in the PGAS model with fine-grained task synchronization across process boundaries. In the paper, they present how global data dependencies are used to describe the data flow between tasks and how interactions between distributed scheduler instances are used to manage those dependencies. The authors demonstrate the feasibility and scalability of this approach.

For the second paper, Laguna, Wood, Singh, and Bagchi describe GPUMixer, a tool they developed to perform GPU-based mixed-precision floating-point tuning for scientific applications. While precision tuning techniques are available, they are mainly designed for serial programs and are accuracy-driven. The GPUmixer, by contrast, uses a performance-based approach and employs multiple threads. The paper describes how this was accomplished and what kinds of performance gains they were able to achieve compared to state-of-the-art methods.

The authors of the both papers will be given the opportunity to present their work at the Research Paper Award Session on Monday, June 17, at which point the Research Papers Committee will decide which one is the best overall paper. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, June 18, during the Hans Meuer Award Ceremony.

The awarded authors will share a cash prize of 5,000 Euros and be given the opportunity to present a keynote talk on their work in one of the research paper sessions at the conference.

The GCS Award

Sponsored by the Gauss Centre for Supercomputing, this year’s winner of the GCS Award will be announced during the conference opening session by the ISC 2019 Research Papers chair, Dr.-Ing. Carsten Trinitis, and awarded on Monday, June 17, at the Research Papers Award session by Professor Michael M. Resch, chairman of the GCS Award Committee.

This year’s GCS award winning research paper is titled End-to-end Resilience for HPC Applications, and is authored by Arash RezaeiHarsh Khetawat, Onkar PatilFrank MuellerPaul Hargrove and Eric Roman

Register for ISC 2019 by May 8 to enjoy Early Bird savings.

Check out our insideHPC Events Calendar