Nominations Open for Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2017 Award Winner Ilkay Altintas

Nominations are now open for the second biennial Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award. The award, which is presented in odd-numbered years at the annual SC conference, was launched to address the relative lack of awards for mid-career professionals in high performance and technical computing.

There are a variety of awards for technical achievements for graduate, early-career, and late-career professionals in our community,” said John West, vice chair of SIGHPC, “but virtually nothing recognizing mid-career professionals. Response to the inaugural award was overwhelmingly positive, and we believe this fills an important need in our community.”

Mid-career is a time when women are moving through the ranks on their way to becoming leaders in their fields. Cherri Pancake, a founder of SIGHPC and the current president of ACM, notes that this “is a period that can be especially challenging for women, who often have to juggle child or parent care as well as job demands.”

“Technical computing” includes all of the various fields that are part of what we think of as HPC – areas such as visualization, analytics, operations, scientific application software (creation and porting/tuning), libraries, and so on – as well as professionals working with everything from small, workgroup-sized systems, to leading systems on the TOP500 list.

SIGHPC recognizes that awards can be an important way to affirm technical accomplishments for the individuals receiving them but, just as importantly, awards also serve as models of success that can encourage others as they start their own careers.

The ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing is a biennial award open to any woman who has engaged in HPC and technical computing research, education, and/or practice for 5-15 years since receiving her highest degree. This international award creates a new career milestone achievement and consists of a $2,000 honorarium, travel support to the SC conference, and a recognition plaque.

Nominations are due June 30, 2019.

Sign up for our insideHPC Newsletter