DOE, White House Announce Members of U.S. Quantum Advisory Committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Technologists from the national labs, universities, federal agencies and industry have been named by the U.S. Department of Energy and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) to the National Quantum Initiative Advisory Committee (NQIAC). Announced today, the NQAIC’s mission is to “counsel the Administration on ways to ensure continued American leadership in quantum information science.”

The Administration established the NQIAC by Executive Order as part of the bipartisan National Quantum Initiative Act of 2018. The committee will be co-chaired by Dr. Charles Tahan, OSTP Assistant Director for Quantum Information Science and Director of the National Quantum Coordination Office, and Dr. Kathryn Ann Moler, Dean of Research at Stanford University.

The first NQIAC meeting is tentatively scheduled for October 2020. Earlier this week, DOE and OSTP announced up to $625 million over five years for the establishment of five quantum research centers, delivering on the National Quantum Initiative Act’s call to stand up new QIS centers nationwide.

Committee members include:

Professor Timothy A. Akers
Assistant Vice President for Research Innovation and Advocacy
Morgan State University
Baltimore, MD

Professor Frederic T. Chong
Seymour Goodman Professor
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Dr. James S. Clarke
Director, Quantum Hardware
Intel Corporation
Portland, OR

Professor Kai-Mei C. Fu
Associate Professor of Physics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Dr. Marissa Giustina
Senior Research Scientist
Goleta, CA

Mr. Gilbert V. Herrera
Laboratory Fellow
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM

Professor Evelyn L. Hu
Tarr-Coyne Professor of Electrical Engineering and Applied Science
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA

Professor Jungsang Kim
Co-Founder, IonQ
Professor of ECE, Physics and Computer Science
Duke University
Durham, NC

Dr. Joseph Lykken
Deputy Director for Research
Fermi National Accelerator Lab
Batavia, IL

Mr. Luke Mauritsen
Montana Instruments
Bozeman, MT

Professor Christopher R. Monroe
University of Maryland
College Park, MD

Professor William D. Oliver
Associate Professor EECE, Professor of Practice Physics, and MIT-Lincoln Laboratory Fellow
Massachusetts Institute of Technology and MIT-Lincoln Laboratory
Cambridge, MA

Mr. Stephen S. Pawlowski
Vice President of Advanced Computing Solutions
Beaverton, OR

Professor John P. Preskill
Director of the Institute for Quantum and Matter
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA

Dr. Kristen L. Pudenz
Lead for Quantum Information Science
Lockheed Martin
Longmont, CO

Dr. Chad T. Rigetti
Founder and CEO
Rigetti Computing
Berkeley, CA

Dr. Mark B. Ritter
Chair, Physical Sciences Council
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Sherman, CT

Professor Robert J. Schoelkopf
Sterling Professor of Applied Physics and Physics
Yale University
New Haven, CT

Dr. Krysta M. Svore
General Manager of Quantum Systems
Microsoft Research
Redmond, WA

Professor Jinliu Wang
Senior Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development
The State University of New York
Albany, NY

Dr. Jun Ye
JILA Fellow, Adjoint Professor of Physics
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Boulder, CO