Class of 26 joins DOE Computational Science Graduate Fellowship

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A class of 26 future high-performance computing (HPC) leaders is enrolled at U.S. universities this fall with support from the Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF).

Including the new fellows, the program has sponsored more than 500 students at more than 65 universities since it was launched in 1991. Only about 5 percent of applicants were chosen for the fellowship this year.

Fellows receive a yearly stipend; full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period); and an annual academic allowance. The fellowship, renewable for up to four years, also includes a three-month research practicum at one of 21 DOE sites.

Nearly a quarter of all former fellows work or have worked at a DOE facility. Others pursue careers in academia, industry or government, where they introduce and advocate for computational science as a tool for discovery.

The DOE CSGF includes a track for those pursuing an advanced degree in applied mathematics, statistics or computer science with research interests that help use emerging HPC systems more effectively. Their research focuses on computing as a broad enabling technology and not on a particular science or engineering application.

Members of the fellowship’s latest incoming class, their institutions and fields, are:

Alexandra Baumgart, California Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Marc Davis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Science

Emily de Jong, California Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Anthony Degleris, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering

Ian DesJardin, University of Maryland, College Park; Aerospace Engineering

Kiran Eiden, University of California, Berkeley, Astrophysics

Ethan Epperly, California Institute of Technology, Applied and Computational Mathematics

Margot Fitz Axen, University of Texas at Austin, Astronomy

Grant Johnson, Princeton University, Plasma Physics

Ariel Kellison, Cornell University, Computer Science

Nikita Kozak, Stanford University, Fluid Mechanics

Mary-Francis LaPorte, University of California, Davis; Plant Biology

Nishad Maskara, Harvard University, Physics

Kaishu Mason, University of Pennsylvania, Statistics

Albert Musaelian, Harvard University, Applied Mathematics

Laura Nichols, Vanderbilt University, Computational Solid State Physics

Graham Pash, University of Texas at Austin, Computational Science, Engineering & Mathematics

Danilo Perez Jr., New York University, Neural Science

Justin Porter, Rice University, Mechanical Engineering

Luis Rangel DaCosta, University of California, Berkeley; Materials Science

Rachel Robey, University of Colorado Boulder; Applied Mathematics

David Rogers, Stanford University, Earth System Science

Benjamin Sepanski, University of Texas at Austin; Computer Science

Ellis Torrance, University of North Carolina, Greensboro; Environmental Health Science

Margaret Trautner, California Institute of Technology, Computing and Mathematical Sciences

Santiago Vargas, University of California, Los Angeles; Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

Additional details for each fellow are available via the program’s online fellow directory ( For further information, contact the Krell Institute, DOE CSGF program manager, at