DOE’s HPC for Energy Innovation (HPC4EI) Fall Solicitation

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nov. 1, 2021 — The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) High Performance Computing for Energy Innovation Initiative will issue a fall 2021 solicitation in November 2021.

Here’s more about the HPC4EI initiative. Additional NOI details including topics of interest are posted on

HPC4EI programs are designed to improve manufacturing processes, address products’ lifecycle energy consumption, and increase the efficiency of energy conversion and storage technologies by providing access to national lab supercomputing resources and expertise for high performance computing projects. The fall solicitation will cover the High Performance Computing for Manufacturing (HPC4Mfg) program and the High Performance Computing for Materials (HPC4Mtls) program, which are supported by the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy’s Advanced Manufacturing Office and by the Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management, respectively. These programs harness the raw processing power of national lab supercomputers to decarbonize U.S. industry and move us closer to an equitable clean energy future that benefits all Americans.

HPC4EI conducts two regular solicitations annually, one in the fall and one in the spring. The fall solicitation will target qualified industry partners to participate in short-term, collaborative projects with DOE National Laboratories that address key manufacturing challenges and accelerate the development and deployment of clean energy technologies to move us closer to the Biden-Harris Administration’s goal of net-zero carbon emissions by 2050.

Eligibility for the program is limited to entities that manufacture products or operate systems in the United States for commercial applications and to organizations that support these entities. The solicitation will encourage applicants to partner with a diverse range of universities, community colleges, and non-profit organizations, especially those located in disadvantaged communities. This focus ensures the equitable use and benefits of HPC national laboratory resources and technologies.

Selected projects will be awarded up to $300,000 to support computing cycles and work performed by DOE National Laboratories, universities, and non-profit partners. All DOE National Laboratories are eligible to participate. The industry partner must provide a participant contribution of at least 20% of the total project funding.

DOE’s Advanced Manufacturing Office (AMO), within the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, is the primary sponsor of the High Performance Computing for Manufacturing program. AMO partners with private and public stakeholders to decarbonize industry and increase the competitiveness of the U.S. manufacturing and clean energy sectors through process innovations, collaborations, research and development, and technical assistance and workforce training.

The Advanced Energy Materials program funded by DOE’s Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management (FECM) is the primary sponsor for the High Performance Computing for Materials program. FECM funds research, development, demonstration and deployment projects to decarbonize power generation and industrial sources, to remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and to mitigate the environmental impacts of fossil fuel use.

Before the official call is open, applicants can reach out to the following DOE National Laboratory point of contacts to ask questions regarding their facility’s HPC system capabilities and subject matter experts. Companies and national laboratory personnel must refrain from discussing specific project ideas once the solicitation call is officially open.

Laboratory Contact
Argonne National Laboratory David Martin
Berkeley National Laboratory Peter Nugent
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Aaron Fisher
Los Alamos National Laboratory Marianne Francois
Oak Ridge National Laboratory John Turner (HPC4Mfg)

Edgar Lara-Curzio (HPC4Mtls)

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Michael Rinker
National Renewable Energy Laboratory Michael Martin
National Energy Technology Laboratory Yochai Wen
Sandia National Laboratory Ronald Manginell