Duke Researcher Dr. Amanda Randles Wins ACM Prize in Computing for Medical Diagnostics

The Association for Computing Machinery, named Amanda Randles of Duke University the recipient of the ACM Prize in Computing for groundbreaking contributions to computational health through innovative ….

ACM and IMS Release First Issues of Journal of Data Science

New York, March 27, 2024 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, and IMS, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, have announced the publication of the first issues of the ACM/IMS Journal of Data Science (JDS), a peer-reviewed publication. The scope of the journal is multi-disciplinary and broad, spanning statistics, machine learning, computer systems, and the societal implications […]

ACM-IEEE CS Names Winners of George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships

New York, October 26, 2023 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, and the IEEE Computer Society announced today that James Gregory Pauloski of the University of Chicago and Rohan Basu Roy of Northeastern University are the recipients of the 2023 ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships. Hua Huang of the Georgia Institute of […]

Keshav Pingali to Receive ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

New York, October 4, 2023 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, and IEEE Computer Society have named Keshav Pingali, the W.A.”Tex” Moncrief Chair of Grid and Distributed Computing at the University of Texas at Austin, as the recipient of the 2023 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. The Ken Kennedy Award recognizes groundbreaking achievements in parallel and high […]

ExaWorks: Tested Component for HPC Workflows

ExaWorks is an Exascale Computing Project (ECP)–funded project that provides access to hardened and tested workflow components through a software development kit (SDK). Developers use this SDK and associated APIs to build and deploy production-grade, exascale-capable workflows on US Department of Energy (DOE) and other computers. The prestigious Gordon Bell Prize competition highlighted the success of the ExaWorks SDK when the Gordewinner and two of three finalists in the 2020 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Gordon Bell Special Prize for High Performance Computing–Based COVID-19 Research competition leveraged ExaWorks technologies.

Multicore Processor Design Pioneer Prof. Kunle Olukotun Receives ACM-IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award

New York, June 7, 2023 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, today announced that Kunle Olukotun, a professor at Stanford University, is the recipient of the ACM-IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award for contributions and leadership in the development of parallel systems, especially multicore and multithreaded processors. In the early 1990s, Olukotun became a leading designer of a new kind […]

ACM Accepting Nominations for New Gordon Bell Prize for Climate Modelling

New York, NY, November 17, 2022 – To highlight and encourage more research focused on modelling the devastating impact of climate change, ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has established the ACM Gordon Bell Prize for Climate Modelling . The new award aims to recognize innovative parallel computing contributions toward solving the global climate crisis. Climate scientists and […]

At SC22: ACM Gordon Bell Prize Awarded for Particle-In-Cell Simulations on Frontier, Fugaku, Summit and Perlmutter Supercomputers

New York, NY, November 17, 2022 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, named a 16-member team drawn from French, Japanese, and US institutions as recipient of the 2022 ACM Gordon Bell Prize for their project, “Pushing the Frontier in the Design of Laser-Based Electron Accelerators With Groundbreaking Mesh-Refined Particle-In-Cell Simulations on Exascale-Class Supercomputers.” The members of […]

ACM Names Jack Dongarra Winner of 2021 Turing Award for Contributions to HPC

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) named Jack J. Dongarra recipient of the 2021 ACM A.M. Turing Award for pioneering contributions to numerical algorithms and libraries that enabled high performance computational software to keep pace with exponential hardware improvements for over four decades. Dongarra is a University Distinguished Professor of Computer Science in the Electrical […]

ACM SIGHPC’s Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award: Call for Nominations

Nominations are open for the ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing (EWL/TC), a biennial award open to any woman who has engaged in HPC and technical computing research, education or practice for five to 15 years since receiving her highest degree. This ACM SIGHPC award is presented every two years during the annual […]