IEEE Electronic Components and Technology Conference, May 28-31 in Denver

DENVER (April 30, 2024) – The forum for microelectronics packaging and component science and technology, the 74th annual IEEE Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC), will take place from Tuesday to Friday, May 28-31, 2024 at Denver’s Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center, with more than 1,500 scientists, engineers and businesspeople from more than 20 […]

Keshav Pingali to Receive ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

New York, October 4, 2023 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, and IEEE Computer Society have named Keshav Pingali, the W.A.”Tex” Moncrief Chair of Grid and Distributed Computing at the University of Texas at Austin, as the recipient of the 2023 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. The Ken Kennedy Award recognizes groundbreaking achievements in parallel and high […]

ORNL’s Xiao Wang Named IEEE Senior Member

April 12, 2023 — Xiao Wang, a research scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has been named a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the world’s largest organization for technical professionals. Wang works in the lab’s Computing and Computational Sciences Directorate’s Advanced Computing for Health Sciences Section. Senior membership, the IEEE’s highest grade, […]

Ian Foster to Receive ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

New York, Sept. 7, 2022 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery and IEEE Computer Society have named Ian Foster, a Professor at the University of Chicago and Division Director at Argonne National Laboratory, as the recipient of the 2022 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. The Ken Kennedy Award recognizes pathbreaking achievements in parallel (high performance) computing. Foster is cited […]

OLCF’S HPC Systems Engineer Bing Xie Wins IEEE Early Career Award

Bing Xie, a high-performance computing systems engineer for the Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facility, has received the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society’s Early Career Researchers Award for excellence in high-performance computing, or HPC. The award recognizes outstanding, influential and potentially long-lasting HPC contributions. Xie received her Ph.D. in computer science from Duke University […]

Digital Twin Consortium and Object Management Group to Discuss Space Mission IT Challenges at IEEE Conference

Boston – July 15, 2021 – Digital Twin Consortium and Object Management Group (OMG) announced they will present mini-workshops during the 8th IEEE International Conference on Space Mission Challenges for Information Technology (SMC-IT 2021), which runs virtually from July 26-30, 2021. Space missions are leveraging digital twins for many applications, from in-space additive manufacturing to using augmented reality in microgravity […]

May 1 Deadline ACM–IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship

Nominations are open (link to form is below) for the ACM–IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship, which honors exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus is on high-performance computing applications, networking, storage, or large-scale data analysis using the most powerful computers available. The awards are presented each November at the annual SC Conference, […]

Georgia Tech’s Vivek Sarkar Wins 2020 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) have named Vivek Sarkar of Georgia Institute of Technology winner of the 2020 ACM/IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. Sarkar is recognized for “foundational technical contributions to the area of programmability and productivity in parallel computing, as well as leadership contributions to professional service, mentoring, […]

Call for Papers: SCALE 2020 Scalable Computing Challenge for Cash Prizes

The IEEE International Scalable Computing Challenge (SCALE 2020) has issued its Call for Papers. “Are you doing real-world problem-solving using computing that scales? Want to win $1000 or $500? Submit a whitepaper to 13th IEEE International Scalable Computing Challenge (SCALE 2020) by Feb 5, 2020. Finalists must register, present & demo at CCGrid 2020.”

Jack Dongarra to Receive 2020 IEEE Computer Pioneer Award

Dr. Jack Dongarra from the University of Tennessee has been named to receive the IEEE Computer Society’s 2020 Computer Pioneer Award. “The award is given for significant contributions to early concepts and developments in the electronic computer field, which have clearly advanced the state-of-the-art in computing. Dongarra is being recognized “for leadership in the area of high-performance mathematical software.”