NERSC Announces HPC Achievement Awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This week NERSC announced the winners of their inaugural HPC Achievement Awards at their User Group meeting at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The awardees are all NERSC users who have either demonstrated an innovative use of HPC resources to solve a scientific problem, or whose work has had an exceptional impact on scientific understanding or society.

High performance computing is changing how science is being done, and facilitating breakthroughs that would have been impossible a decade ago,” says NERSC Director Sudip Dosanjh. “The 2013 NERSC Achievement Award winners highlight some of the ways this trend is expanding our fundamental understanding of science, and how we can use this knowledge to benefit humanity.”

In an effort to encourage young scientists who are using HPC in their research, NERSC also presented two early career awards. Winners include: Jeff Grossman, David Cohen, Tanmoy Das, Peter Nugent, and Edgar Solomonik. Read the Full Story.