SC15 Seeking Nominations for Cray, Fernbach and Kennedy Awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

SC15ColorSoftShadowThe SC15 conference is now seeking nominations for the Cray, Fernbach, and Kennedy awards. The submission deadline is Wednesday, July 1, 2015.

IEEE Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award
Established in 1997, the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. Previous winners have been recognized for design, engineering and intellectual leadership in creating innovative and successful HPC systems. One of HPC’s most prestigious awards, winners receive an illuminated certificate and a $10,000 honorarium at a special awards session during the conference. Learn more at:

IEEE Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award
The IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award was established in 1992 in honor of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for solving large computational problems. Nominations that recognize creation of widely-used and innovative software packages, application software and tools are especially solicited. The Fernbach award winner receives a certificate and $2,000.

ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award
The ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award, established in 2009, is presented for outstanding contributions to programmability or productivity in computing, together with significant community service or mentoring contributions. The award was established in memory of Ken Kennedy, the founder of Rice University’s nationally ranked computer science program and one of the world’s foremost experts on high performance computing. Awardees receive a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium.

Recipients of this year’s awards will give special presentations during SC15, which will take place Nov. 15-20 in Austin, Texas.

Sign up for our insideHPC Newsletter.