ALCF’s Michael Papka Wins Pinnacle of Education Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Michael Papka, ALCF

Oct. 5, 2022 — Michael E. Papka, a deputy associate laboratory director at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory and director of the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility (ALCF), has been recognized with the 2022 Argonne Board of Governors’ Pinnacle of Education Award for his dedication and contributions to science education outreach activities aimed at inspiring youth.

“I’m truly honored to receive this award,” said Papka, who is also a professor of computer science at the University of Illinois Chicago. “In my roles at Argonne and UIC, I know how important it is to cultivate the next generation of scientists and engineers. By providing fun learning experiences and mentoring students early on, we can show them how exciting and rewarding a career in science can be.”

Since assuming leadership of the ALCF in 2010, Papka has launched several summer computer science camps for local middle school and high school students, including Coding for Science Camp, Big Data Camp, and most recently, an artificial intelligence-focused camp with colleagues at Northern Illinois University.

All the camps are done in collaboration with Argonne Educational Programs staff and other Argonne volunteers around topics in computer science. The curricula are designed to introduce kids to computational thinking skills through hands-on coding and data analysis activities and interactions with professional researchers.

“Mike’s track record of creating STEM experiences for students that encourage computational skills and highlight the work and mission of Argonne research, is helping to build a strong pipeline to Argonne opportunities at the high school level and beyond,” said Rick Stevens, associate laboratory director for Computing, Environment and Life Sciences.

In addition to his roles at Argonne, Papka has been teaching computer science to college students for over a decade. Prior to joining UIC he was a Presidential Research, Scholarship and Artistry Professor of computer science at Northern Illinois University.